Katie Malik Interior Designer Cambridge

How to update your existing furniture

Throughout life, we tend to accumulate things, and sometimes, we end up with items that don’t necessarily fit the new scheme or the other existing pieces; I bet you have a cupboard or other piece of furniture that you’re not sure goes with the rest…or maybe even more; well, I have a few, but as I have been updating my house, I decided to tackle them one by one; the first one on my list was this CD cupboard made of pine wood pictured below:

Katie Malik Interior Designer Cambridge
Old CD cupboard

Not impressive, I know…it could potentially fit in a different kind of house, but not mine…and, I definitely didn’t want to use it as a CD cupboard…I wanted it to have a new, more practical function of a hall cabinet, where more essential items could be stored; however, first, i needed it to look a bit different…

So, this is what I did:

1. After deciding where it’s going to sit, I thought about the colour scheme, and how could I tie it with the existing items in the hall. I had a look in several paint charts, and found a colour I thought (and still think) would go well.

2. I went to one of my favourite paint shops in Cambridge- Johnstones Decorating Centre, where I picked a grey undercoat, which is meant to prepare the surface for the actual paint, and a colour, in satin finish. Both paints of course, suitable for the wooden surfaces, and water-based. I must add here, that the colour I have chosen is actually from the Farrow & Ball wall paint collection, but Johnstones turned it magically into a wood paint 🙂 That’s why they’re my favourite 🙂

3. I removed the handles, and got to sanding…not my favourite part, but I had to remove the old varnish, and prepare the surface for the undercoat.

4. Applying the undercoat and letting it dry properly was another step. I must say after the undercoat was applied, i was unsure whether I did the right thing choosing the grey one, but the final effect was great!

5. The last step- applying the paint! Again, when it was still wet, I thought I picked the wrong colour, so if that happens to you, let the paint dry…and then, see whether it needs another coat of paint 😉 Mine did, so after everything was dry, I applied the second coat.

6. I put back the handles, and voila! Brand- new cupboard, that looks much more sophisticated than its old version in pine…

Katie Malik Interior Designer Cambridge
New look of an old CD cupboard
Katie Malik Interior Designer Cambridge
New look of an old CD cupboard

What do you think?

Find more about Katie Malik’s work on http://www.katiemalik.co.uk

2 thoughts on “How to update your existing furniture

Leave a Reply

