Katie Malik Interior Designer Cambridge

Weekly (weekend) design inspiration

Some weeks, when working on several projects at the same time, I am surrounded by so many inspiring things, I would probably have to post every hour 🙂 As I mentioned in the interview with Cambridge Property Edition magazine, I’m inspired by every day life, and almost anything that surrounds me. That’s why, when travelling, for example, I notice little things, which are truly exhilarating. This week, I’m on an unusual weekend trip in Gdansk, where I spotted some little gems…

The first one is this authentic pomeranian pottery, its shapes and confidently put together colours drew my eyes almost immediately- would you ever think that this green would go with orange-red? I think it’s a brilliant combination, which would certainly work in a living space as well.

Katie Malik Interior Designer Cambridge

A very similar palette can be found in architectural features (source: design seeds):

Katie Malik Interior designer Cambridge

Another item which caught my eye, is this parisian cafe style chair:

Katie Malik Interior designer Cambridge

Can you see the similarities between the one above and this one below?

Katie Malik Interior designer Cambridge

The shape is very similar, but I like the first one a bit more because it looks (and is!) more comfortable as it back rest and seat are upholstered in stunning velvet-cotton fabric:

Katie Malik Interior Designer Cambridge

Of course I spotted these in a French-style restaurant in Sopot 🙂

So, keep your eyes open when travelling- you will be surprised how much inspiration for your own interior design projects you can get. For regular inspiration, subscribe to my blog and follow Katie Malik Interiors on Facebook & Twitter.

Leave a Reply

